A place where everybody knows your name

0 flat tires, 1 radio interview, 10 minutes of rain, 9 hours and 241 KM on the bike later and- just like that- I had made it from Swift Current to Regina, Saskatchewan.  Other then the magnificent views along the way the ride was pretty uneventful, which I was grateful for given that the last few days were filled with far too much rain and far too many flat tires.   Strangely, when you bike across Canada ‘uneventful’ becomes a good thing.

Image

ImageI was happy to arrive in Regina and be greeted by the familiar faces of the Friesen family, the parents, sister and cousin of my university roommate Derek, who is currently away in Europe working.

Image

Left to Right: 

Kristyn Friesen, Erin Kot, Laura Friesen, Blaine Friesen & myself

However, I am not sure if entirely agree with their opinion that this statue and I look a like. They insisted the city had erected it in my honour. You be the judge.

Image

I have to admit, as nice as it has been to share so many moments and memories with the strangers I have encountered along the way, it was even more wonderful to trade stories, drinks and laughter with old friends last night.  It made me both a little homesick to have a little taste of all that I am missing out on back home at the moment, but also really excited to know that each day brings me closer to my friends and family in Toronto and Ottawa- and the celebrations that will surely follow.

For now, I am doing my best to resist these urges and just live in the moment, enjoying my journey and whatever it brings with it.  Today, I plan on resting and recharging in Regina before I attempt to tackle the 360 KM between here and Brandon, Manitoba tomorrow.

I am happily using today as an opportunity to oversleep and overeat in preparation for that lengthy trek.

 Image

Total Kilometers Biked: 1996 KM

Cheers,

Cayse

3 thoughts on “A place where everybody knows your name

  1. It was such a pleasure to host you in Regina, Cayse! Safe journey as you raise the profile of organ donation across this fine country. You are making a difference.

  2. Hi Cayse, Manitoba is excited to welcome you to our province! We have some great cyclists on our Transplant Manitoba Gift of Life program team so do let us know if you’d like some company when you get to Winnipeg.

Leave a Reply

