The trouble with biking across Canada…

For my second straight day of biking I was blessed with beautiful blue skies– no small feat given that I’m on the Wet West Coast.  The clear weather made for another awesome but long day out on the roads.

I took off at 8:30 am with every intention of catching the noon ferry out of Nanaimo so I could be in Vancouver by mid-afternoon.  Unfortunately, a piece of metal wire got the best of not one but two of my tires leaving me waylaid at the roadside for about 45 minutes while I worked to fix them.

I have a sneaking suspicion that I am going to get much better at fixing bike tires by the end of this trip.

Other then the tire issues things went smoothly today.  Every bend in the road brought with it another stunning view, including the famous goats on the roof of Combs Country Market (see photo).  Even my legs felt great in spite of the cramping I experienced yesterday– the 2 ½ hour rest on the ferry ride might have had something to do with it.

Image

Around 8 pm I arrived safely at my cousin Skye Orvis and fiancé Heather Gushie’s place in Port Moody, just outside of Vancouver, where I plan on spending the night.

In total, I was able to bike another 90 km today (and ferry 58 km), putting my two-day biking total at 230 km, or just over 3% of my total journey! Put shortly, there is still a looong way to go.

Image

Image

On the docket for tomorrow: resting and exploring all that Vancouver has to offer before continuing eastward and into the Rockies on Thursday.

Thanks for all of your amazing support so far! Continue to spread the word about organ donation!

Total Kilometers Biked: 230km

Cheers,
Cayse

One thought on “The trouble with biking across Canada…

  1. I just saw your story on the news. It makes me think of Terry Fox. Your stories may be different but your spirit is same. I wish you the best of luck on your journey. If you need a place to stay my parents live on Shuswap Lake in Salmon Arm. They would welcome you with open arms.

Leave a Reply

